National Museum Hall of Fame trainer, Janet Elliot, helped form SOTA in 1994. It was created to give steeplechase owners and trainers a unified voice when dealing with issues ranging from medication policies to licensing requirements to safety standards. In its first season, SOTA was able to organize a consensus among owners and trainers to help the passage of the anti-bleeding medication Lasix.

In 2013, SOTA worked closely with the NSA to continue to expand the condition book.  We again gave horsemen the opportunity to have stabling in Saratoga by renting and sub-leasing Dr. Barnes' 19 stall barn on Henning Road. SOTA also takes part in the NSA's Safety Task Force and helped push through the 2013 rule mandating all jockeys to have IMPACT tests on record before riding the 2013 season.

In 2014, SOTA continued to work closely with the National Steeplechase Association and the National Steeplechase Foundation, including co-hosting the annual award's dinner after the Colonial Cup races. It was a rousing success. 

Last year, SOTA began sponsoring two apprentice races.  SOTA hopes to grow the jockey pool by continuing this sponsorship.   By collaborating with the National Steeplechase Association, SOTA provides a platform for open and creative discussions about how to stimulate interest and,

more importantly, participation in our sport.

Over the years, past presidents have included Janet Elliot, Jack Fisher, Kathy McKenna, Laura Shull, Kate Dalton, Sean Clancy, and Mason Lampton. Presently, Meriwether Morris is president. 

2019 Members

Heather Austin

Robert Bonnie

Lilith Boucher 

Gerry Brewster

Elizabeth Carey

Sean Clancy

Gail Clark

Thomas Collins

Kate Dalton

Joseph Davies

Emily Day

James Day

Janet Elliot

Charles Fenwick

Sheila Fisher

Jack Fisher

Heather Gregorek

Joseph Fowler

Lucy Goelet

Julie Gomena

Harvey Goolsby

Nancy Haigley

Michael Hankin

Richard Hendriks

Mary Ann Houghland

Lucy Howard

Richard Hutchinson

Suzy Reingold

Billy Santoro

George Sensor

S. Rebecca Shepherd

Jonathan Sheppard

Andrew Stifler

Edward Swyer

Guy Torsilieri

Regina Welsh

Rachel Westerlund

Sheila Williams

Rufus Williams

Todd Wyatt

William W Wylie

Leslie Young

Richard Hutchinson

Ann Jackson

Gillian Johnston 

Norma Killebrew

Arch Kingsley

Robert Kinsley

Mason Lampton

Ann LaPides

Eve Ledyard

Gigi Lazenby

George Mahoney

Crispin Menefee

Madison Meyers

George Merck

Anne Moran

Meriwether Morris

Neil Morris

Garrett Murray

Irvin Naylor

Katherine Neilson

Sanna Neilson

Achsah O'Donovan

Jacqueline Ohrstrom

Clarke Ohrstrom

Hill Parker

Mary Charlotte Parr

William W Price



Contact Us

106 Barton Bend

Dripping Springs, TX 78620


Connect with us

© 2019 Steeplechase Owners & Trainers Association

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon